2019

Angemeldet

Januar 2019 -

  • Unterzeichnet im Kommentarschreiben von AARDA, das auf die vorgeschlagene Regel von Medicare Advantage und Teil D eingeht.

Februar 2019 -

  • Unterzeichnet in einem Unterstützungsbrief für die Sicherstellung eines dauerhaften Lächelnst (ELSA). Dieser Link gibt Ihnen einen Überblick über die Bemühungen um die Sicherstellung eines dauerhaften Lächelngesetzes: https://www.nfed.org/get-beteiligt / Befürworter / GewährleistungDauerlächeln /
  • Anmeldung zum Entwurf von Kommentaren von I Am Essential für die vorgeschlagene 2020-Mitteilung über den Nutzen und die Zahlungsparameter. In dem Schreiben wird dargelegt, welche Auswirkungen die vorgeschlagenen Änderungen auf den Zugang der Patienten zu verschreibungspflichtigen Medikamenten und deren Erschwinglichkeit haben werden.

März 2019 -

  • Unterzeichnung in einem Brief mit AARDA, in dem empfohlen wurde, dass der Kongress 8.0 $ für ein eigenständiges, dediziertes Programm für Autoimmunkrankheiten im Forschungsprogramm des US-Verteidigungsministeriums (DoD CDMRP) bereitstellen sollte. Das CDMRP befindet sich im Medical Research und Materiel Command der US Army, um von Experten begutachtete medizinische Forschungsprogramme (PRMRP) zu unterstützen, um militärische Gesundheitsforschung mit außergewöhnlichem wissenschaftlichen Nutzen in 2020 oder anderen prioritären Themenbereichen zu identifizieren und auszuwählen, einschließlich Arthritis, Diabetes, Epilepsie, entzündliche Darmerkrankungen, Lupus, Multiple Sklerose, Sklerodermie und andere Autoimmunerkrankungen.

Mai 2019 -

  • Unterzeichnete ein Schreiben zur Unterstützung der Medicare-Deckung für medizinisch notwendige Mund- / Zahngesundheitstherapien zusammen mit 92-Unterzeichnern, die von International & American Associations for Dental Research gesponsert wurden.
  • Angeforderte Unterstützung des Kongresses für die kritische und äußerst erfolgreiche Verteidigungsgesundheitsforschung
    Programme, die im Rahmen der kongressdirigierten medizinischen Forschungsprogramme (CDMRP) unter gefördert werden
    das Verteidigungsministerium (DoD).

Juli 2019 -

  • An den Vorsitzenden Grassley, das ranghohe Mitglied Wyden, den Vorsitzenden McConnell, den Vorsitzenden der Minderheit Schumer und den gesamten Finanzausschuss des Senats wurde ein Schreiben gesandt, in dem die Senatsführung aufgefordert wird, den Schutz von Medicare Teil B beizubehalten.
  • Brief an Administrator Seema Verma vom Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services des US-amerikanischen Ministeriums für Gesundheit und Human Services bezüglich unserer Besorgnis über die Hindernisse der Begünstigten für den Zugang zu Off-Label-Behandlungen in Medicare Part D.

August 2019 -

  • Eingereichtes Kommentarschreiben zu der von der Verwaltung vorgeschlagenen Regel, die die Vorschriften zur Umsetzung von Section 1557, der Antidiskriminierungsbestimmung des Affordable Care Act, dramatisch ändern würde. Der Brief konzentriert sich auf die Auswirkungen der vorgeschlagenen Änderungen, die sich auf die Gestaltung und den Zugang zu Pflege und Behandlung für Menschen mit schwerwiegenden, chronischen Erkrankungen des Gesundheitswesens auswirken.

September 2019 -

  • Das IPPF schloss sich 17-Organisationen im Rahmen der Drug Pricing Task Force der American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) an, die das Dokument mit den Biosimilars-Grundsätzen unterzeichnet hat, das gemeinsame Standards unterstützt
    Prinzipien zur Steigerung der Aufnahme von biologisch ähnlichen Produkten.

Oktober 2019 -

  • Unterzeichnete ein Unterstützungsschreiben für die rasche Bestätigung von Dr. Hahn als FDA-Kommissar.
  • Unterzeichnungsschreiben an die Leitung des Finanzausschusses des Senats und die Leitung des Energie- und Handelsausschusses des Hauses sowie an das House Ways and Means, in dem wir unsere anhaltende Unterstützung für eine langfristige erneute Zulassung von PCORI zum Ausdruck bringen, da diese ein Paket für Gesundheitsverlängerer aushandeln .
  • Übermittelte Kommentare an das Institute for Clinical and Economic Review (ICER), in denen Änderungen am ICER Value Framework für 2020 vorgeschlagen wurden.

AKTIONEN EMPFANGEN & ANERKENNUNG EMPFANGEN

2018

Angemeldet

Februar 2018 -

  • Die IPPF sendete eine Brief an Medicaid-Direktoren im ganzen Land, in denen betont wird, wie wichtig es ist, den Zugang der Patienten zu Orphan-Therapien in Medicaid zu erhalten.

März 2018 -

  • Die IPPF schloss sich den Friends of NIDCR an und beantragte eine Forschungsförderung von $ 38.4 Milliarden für NIHeinschließlich der Mittel, die der Agentur über 21 zur Verfügung gestellt wurdenst Century Cures Act und $ 477 Millionen für NIDCR, ein 12-Prozent-Anstieg gegenüber FY2017-Werten.
  • Die IPPF schickte einen Brief an den Kongress, in dem sie unsere Besorgnis über die neueste Version des Trickett Wendler, Frank Mongiello, Jordan McLinn und Matthew Bellina Right to Try Act zum Ausdruck brachte.

April 2018 -

  • Die IPPF unterzeichnete den von den Kongressabgeordneten Carson und Costello vorgestellten RARE Act (Gesetz zur Förderung seltener Krankheiten, Forschung und Bildung) von 2018 (HR5115).
  • Die IPPF unterzeichnete ein Schreiben an den Kongress, um unsere Bedenken hinsichtlich der Auswirkungen der vorgeschlagenen Regelung bezüglich kurzfristiger befristeter Dauerplanungsverträge (CMS-9924-P) sowohl auf die Marktplätze für Krankenversicherungen als auch auf die von uns vertretenen Personen zu äußern. http://www.heart.org/idc/groups/heart-public/@wcm/@adv/documents/downloadable/ucm_500479.pdf
  • Gesandter Brief an das US-Repräsentantenhaus, in dem er aufgefordert wird, das Arbeitnehmer-Renteneinkommen-Sicherheitsgesetz von 1974 dahingehend zu ändern, dass ein Gruppengesundheitsplan (oder eine im Zusammenhang mit einem solchen Plan angebotene Krankenversicherung) einen Ausnahmeprozess für jedes Medikationstherapieprotokoll vorsieht und für andere Zwecke (HR 2077).

Juli 2018 -

  • In einem Schreiben sind die Vorschläge der Regierung zur Senkung der Kostenbeteiligung der Patienten aufgeführt, da Patienten mit schweren und chronischen Gesundheitszuständen oft die schwersten Kosten tragen und mit hohen Kosten konfrontiert sind, wie beispielsweise höhere Prämien und höhere Selbstbehalte , steigende Copays und Mitversicherung. All dies kann sich auf die Aufgabe von Medikamenten und deren Einhaltung auswirken.

August 2018 -

  • Die IPPF hat ein Schreiben unterzeichnet, das wir den Aneignern vor ihrer Konferenz über die 2019-Haushaltsgesetzgebung für das Haushaltsjahr zukommen lassen werden. Der Brief fordert, dass der Aneigner-Fonds der Nationalen Gesundheitsinstitute (NIH) und des Nationalen Instituts für zahn- und kraniofaziale Forschung (NIDCR) mindestens so hoch wie die vom Senat Appropriations Committee vergebenen Beträge von $ 39.1 Milliarden und $ 462.024 Millionen sind. beziehungsweise.

November 2018 -

  • Die IPPF unterzeichnete ein Schreiben im Namen der Teil-B-Vereinigung für Senioren und Ärzte (ASP), das einen breiten Querschnitt von US-amerikanischen Gesundheitsdienstleistern und Patientenorganisationen darstellt, die sich für die Förderung lebensrettender Innovationen in den USA einsetzen

AKTIONEN EMPFANGEN & ANERKENNUNG EMPFANGEN

2017

Angemeldet

Februar 2017

  • Krankenversicherungsreform Schild-On Schreiben an das Energie- und Handelskomitee des Hauses, in dem er ernsthafte Besorgnis über den Schutz der bestehenden Bedingungen für den Schutz und die fortlaufende Deckung von 2017 zum Ausdruck bringt.
  • Signo-in einem Schreiben mit 200-Patientenorganisationen an den kürzlich bestätigten US-Gesundheitsminister Tom Price, der ihn auffordert, den Patientenschutz des ACA aufrechtzuerhalten und durchzusetzen, während er das Gesetz und seine Durchführungsbestimmungen überprüft.
  • Ein Brief an die Trump-Administration über die Herausforderungen, mit denen sich Patienten mit seltenen Krankheiten in Amerika konfrontiert sehen, und die wichtige Rolle, die Bundesbehörden dabei spielen, die Forschung, Entwicklung, Überprüfung und Zulassung von Behandlungen zu beschleunigen. Diese Agenturen müssen in der Lage sein, Personal einzustellen und zu halten, um ihre jeweiligen Aufgaben zu erfüllen und das umfassendere Ziel der Behandlung und Heilung von Krankheiten zu erreichen.

März 2017

  • Schild-on Brief Im Gegensatz zu der neuen Fassung dieses Gesetzes - HR 1313 an das House Education and Workforce Committee. Diese Gesetzgebung würde die Bestimmungen zum Schutz der Privatsphäre im Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act (oder „GINA“) und im Americans with Disabilities Act grundlegend untergraben, wodurch Wellness-Programme für den Arbeitsplatz die Möglichkeit beinhalten, dass Einzelpersonen ihre Gesundheits- und genetischen Informationen sowie die ihrer Familien zur Verfügung stellen denjenigen, die dies ablehnen, schwerwiegende Strafen auferlegen.
  • Anschreiben an den Mehrheitsführer und Sprecher des Repräsentantenhauses, in dem große Besorgnis über die Vorschläge des American Health Care Act (AHCA) zur Änderung der grundlegenden Struktur und des Zwecks von Medicaid geäußert wird, einer wichtigen Quelle der Gesundheitsversorgung von Patienten mit chronischen Krankheiten Gesundheitsbedürfnisse.

April 2017 -

  • Ein Anmeldeschreiben mit dem National Health Council (NHC) und der Nationalen Organisation für Seltene Erkrankungen (NORD) läuft im Anhang Schild-On Brief Patientenorganisationen, die sich für die rechtzeitige Neuautorisierung der Nutzungsgebührenvereinbarungen der Food and Drug Administration (FDA) einsetzen. Menschen mit chronischen und seltenen Krankheiten und Behinderungen sind auf die FDA angewiesen, um innovative, sichere und wirksame Behandlungen zu erhalten.
  • Schild- on Brief mit Die Freunde der NIDCR fordern die Kongressführung auf, gegen die Haushaltsvorschläge der Verwaltung zu protestieren, stellen dem Senat-Mittelausschuss die Zuweisung von zur Verfügung $ 430.5 Mio. für NIDCR in der endgültigen FY17 Appropriation Bill und unsere empfohlene Höhe von $ 452 Mio. für NIDCR in der FY18 Rechnung.
  • Ein Einschreiben mit dem Patientenzugang zur Behandlung in der Gemeinschaft (PACT) Die Koalition befürchtet, dass die Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) Empfehlungen zur Reduzierung der Medicare-Zahlungen für Teil B-Medikamente den Zugang von Patienten zu gemeindenaher Pflege einschränken könnte.

Mai 2017 -

  • Anmeldeformular, das den Kongress dazu auffordert, Handelsverhandlungen zu führen, die eine Politik unterstützen, die medizinische Innovation fördert. Patienten brauchen neue Heilmittel und bessere Behandlungen.

Juni 2017 -

  • Gesandter Brief mit NORD, in dem die Einrichtung des FDA-Büros für Patientenangelegenheiten gefordert wird, um die Patienten effektiver zu motivieren.
  • Beitritt zur Cystic Fibrosis Foundation und zu anderen Gruppen seltener Krankheiten, die einen Brief an die Senatsführung über die Bedeutung von Medicaid für unsere Gemeinden und gegen die Kürzungen bei Medicaid schickten.

Juli 2017 -

  • Wir haben uns 133-Organisationen angeschlossen, um die Antwort von @ IAmEssentialCoalition auf @HHS 'Request for Information (ROI) zu unterstützen, um die regulatorischen Belastungen zu reduzieren und die Gesundheitsversorgung zu verbessern, um Patienten zu stärken. http://bit.ly/2uRYbde

August 2017 -

  • Die IPPF schloss sich der National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) an, um unsere kombinierte Unterstützung des Orphan Drug Tax Credit (ODTC) auszudrücken, indem sie einen Brief an den Kongress sandte.

November 2017 -

  • Unterzeichnet FDA Ein von der Sjögren's Syndrome Foundation und der American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association gesponsertes Schreiben zur Augengesundheit, das den Zugang zu Generika erweitert ophthalmische Emulsionsarzneimittel.
  • Das IPPF trat den 200-Patientenorganisationen bei, indem es diesen aktualisierten Brief an den Kongress sandte, in dem er die Orphan Drug Tax Credits nachdrücklich unterstützte.
  • Eintritt in die Orphan Drug Credit Coalition zusammen mit 34-Organisationen, die sich für den Erhalt der Orphan Drug Tax Credits einsetzen.
  • Wir haben uns mit unseren 2018-Finanzierungsanfragen für NIH und NIDCR bei den Anhängern von NIDC an die Aneigner geschickt.

AKTIONEN EMPFANGEN & ANERKENNUNG EMPFANGEN

Februar 2017

2016

Angemeldet

  • Januar 2016 - Schreiben Sie die Briefe an und fordern Sie die Obama-Administration auf, die Nichtdiskriminierungsbestimmungen von ACA durchzusetzen. und Unterstützung des 21st Century Cures Act (HR 6)
  • März 2016 - Melden Sie sich für das Neugeborenen-Screening an
  • April 2016 - Schreiben Sie ein Schreiben an den Vorsitzenden des HILFE-Ausschusses des Senats, Lamar Alexander, und das Mitglied der Rangliste Patty Murray zur Unterstützung ihrer Bemühungen, die Innovationsgesetzgebung voranzutreiben, die durch zusätzliche Mittel für das NIH unterstützt wird.
  • Oktober 2016 - Melden Sie sich im Rahmen des 21st Century Cures Act an dem Rare Pediatric PRV Program an

AKTIONEN EMPFANGEN & ANERKENNUNG EMPFANGEN

  • Februar 2016 - Marc Yale, Senior Peer Health Coach, und Kate Frantz, Managerin des Awareness-Programms, wurden von 6 P / P-Patienten in Washington DC für die Woche der seltenen Krankheiten unterstützt. In Sacramento schloss sich das Personal anderen staatlichen Organisationen für seltene Krankheiten am State Capitol an und ging dann mit NORD am Rare Disease Day mit den Sacramento Kings zusammen, die 100-Patienten und Anhänger der NNK-Krankheit bei einem NBA-Spiel hosten.

2015

Angemeldet

  • Januar 2015 - Melden Sie sich an, um Patienten mit seltenen Krankheiten behandeln zu lassen
  • Februar 2015 - Melden Sie sich für OPEN ACT an
  • Mai 2015 - Melden Sie sich an, um Unterstützung für fortlaufende Anreize für Hersteller zu zeigen, die pädiatrische Indikationen für seltene Krankheiten suchen.
  • April 2015 - Anschreiben zur Unterstützung von HR 1078, dem SOS-Gesetz.
  • März 2015 - Anmeldeschreiben, das dem Widerrufen von GINA widerspricht
  • März 2015 - Unterzeichnen Sie einen Brief, um sicherzustellen, dass Medicaid-Patienten mit seltenen Krankheiten Zugang zu einer verordneten Therapie haben.
  • April 2015 - Anschreiben zur Unterstützung von HR 1078, dem SOS-Gesetz.
  • Mai 2015 - Melden Sie sich an, um Unterstützung für fortlaufende Anreize für Hersteller zu zeigen, die pädiatrische Indikationen für seltene Krankheiten suchen.
  • Juni 2015 - Beigetreten XENUMXst Century Cures Sign-on Brief des National Health Council
  • Juli 2015 - Unterzeichnet in dem Schreiben zur Unterstützung des NIH-Innovationsfonds in Höhe von 10 Milliarden, der im 2nd-Entwurf der 21st Century Cures-Gesetzgebung enthalten ist.
  • Juli 2015 - Mitglied von United for Medical Research und des National Health Council im Gegenteil Die Brat-Änderung, die kritische NIH-Finanzierung im 21st Century Cures Act durch Politico Ad-Kampagne reduziert.
  • Oktober 2015 - IPPF wurde dem Signing-on-Brief von PPMD ​​an den Vorsitzenden Alexander und das Ranking-Mitglied Murray in Bezug auf eine verstärkte Patientenbeteiligung hinzugefügt.
  • Oktober 2015 - IPPF wurde dem Unterzeichnungsbrief mit NORD hinzugefügt, der das Advancing Targeted Therapies für Seltene Krankheiten (S.2030) unterstützt.
  • November 2015 - IPPF hinzugefügt zu unterzeichnen-Brief zur Unterstützung von Dr. Robert Califf für die Position des Kommissars der Food and Drug Administration

AKTIONEN EMPFANGEN & ANERKENNUNG EMPFANGEN

  • Mai 2015 - Senior Peer Health Coach zeichnete IPPF-Chef Will Zrnchik mit dem NORD Abbey S. Meyers Leadership Award für herausragende Führungsrolle bei der Befürwortung seltener Krankheiten aus.
  • September 2015 - IPPF-Mitglieder Todd Kuh (PV), Marc Yale (MM) und ein Mitpatient schließen sich der Koalition der Hautkrankheiten am Gesetzgebenden Tag der American Academy of Dermatology Association an. Gemeinsam haben sie mit 8-Büros in unseren P / P-Communities gesprochen.

2019

SIGNED ON

January 2019 –

  • Signed on to AARDA’s comment letter responding to the Medicare Advantage and Part D proposed rule.

February 2019 –

  • Signed on to a letter of support for the Ensuring Lasting Smiles Act (ELSA). This link provides an overview for you about the efforts regarding the Ensuring Lasting Smiles Acthttps://www.nfed.org/get-involved/advocate/ensuring-lasting-smiles-act/
  • Sign-on to draft comments by I Am Essential for the proposed 2020 Notice of Benefit and Payment Parameter. The letter outlines the impact the proposed changes would have on patient access to and affordability of prescription drugs.

March 2019 – 

  • Signed on to a letter with AARDA  recommending that Congress allocate $8.0 million in fiscal year 2020 for a stand-alone, dedicated autoimmune disease program in the Department of Defense Congressionally Medical research Program (DoD CDMRP). The CDMRP is located in the US Army Medical Research and Materiel Command to support peer-reviewed medical research programs (PRMRP) to identify and select military health-related research of exceptional scientific merit across 50 or so priority topic areas, including arthritis, diabetes, epilepsy, inflammatory bowel disease, lupus, multiple sclerosis, scleroderma, and other autoimmune diseases.

May 2019 –

  • Signed a letter in support of Medicare coverage for medically-necessary oral/dental health therapies along with 92 other signatories sponsored by International & American Associations for Dental Research.
  • Requested Congressional support for the critical and highly successful defense health research
    programs funded through the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP) at
    the Department of Defense (DoD).

July 2019 –

  • Sent to Chairman Grassley, Ranking Member Wyden, Leader McConnell, Minority Leader Schumer, and the entire Senate Finance Committee a letter Urging senate leadership to maintain Medicare Part B protections.
  • Sent letter to Administrator Seema Verma at the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, regarding our concern for beneficiaries’ barriers to accessing off-label treatments in Medicare Part D.

August 2019 –

  • Submitted comment letter regarding  the administration’s proposed rule that would dramatically change the regulations that implement Section 1557, the anti-discrimination provision of the Affordable Care Act. The letter focuses on the impact of the proposed changes that impact benefits design and access to care and treatment for people with serious, chronic health care conditions.

September 2019 –

  •  The IPPF joined 17 organizations as part of the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD) Drug Pricing Task Force signed on to the biosimilars principles document that supports common
    principles around increasing uptake of biosimilar biological products.

October 2019 – 

  • Sign-on letter to the leadership of the Senate Finance Committee and the leadership of the House Energy and Commerce Committee and the House Ways and Means expressing our continued support for a long-term re-authorization of PCORI,  and as they negotiate a health extenders package.
  • Submitted comments to the Institute for Clinical and Economic Review’s (ICER’s) proposed changes to the ICER Value Framework for 2020.

November 2019 –

  • Signed a letter of support for the swift confirmation of Dr. Hahn as FDA Commissioner.

December 2019 – 

  • Signed on to a letter to Senators Jones, Collins, Menendez, and McSally thanking them for introducing the Senate version of the “Ending the Diagnostic Odyssey Act.”
  • Signed on to letter to to Representatives Diana DeGette and Fred Upton providing input as Congress considers legislation to build upon the success of the 21st Century Cures Act by facilitating a modernized system of developing new cures combined with a health care system that delivers coverage and access.
  • Signed on to letter to Speaker Pelosi, Majority Leader McConnell, Minority Leader McCarthy, and
    Minority Leader Schumer urging them to complete final negotiations on the fiscal year
    2020 Defense Appropriations Act and move the bill expeditiously through the House
    and Senate toward enactment. Legislation will prevent delay to Defense Health Research Programs, including the Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs, at the Department of Defense
    (DoD).

ACTIONS TAKEN & RECOGNITION RECEIVED

2018

SIGNED ON

February 2018 –

  • The IPPF sent a letter to Medicaid Directors across the country emphasizing the importance of preserving patient access to orphan therapies in Medicaid.

March 2018 –

  • The IPPF joined the Friends of NIDCR requesting research funding of $38.4 billion for NIH, which includes funds provided to the agency through the 21st Century Cures Act, and $477 million for NIDCR, a 12 percent increase over FY2017 levels.
  • The IPPF sent a letter to Congress expressing our concern with, and opposition to, the latest version of the Trickett Wendler, Frank Mongiello, Jordan McLinn, and Matthew Bellina Right to Try Act.

April 2018 –

  • The IPPF signed on to support the RARE Act (Rare disease Advancement, Research, and Education Act) of 2018 (H.R.5115), introduced by Congressmen Carson and Costello.
  • The IPPF signed on to a letter to congress to express our concerns about the impact the proposed rule regarding short-term limited duration plans (STLDs) (CMS-9924-P) will have both on the health insurance marketplaces and the individuals we represent. http://www.heart.org/idc/groups/heart-public/@wcm/@adv/documents/downloadable/ucm_500479.pdf
  • Sent letter to the U.S. House of Representatives asking them to amend the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 to require a group health plan (or health insurance coverage offered in connection with such a plan) to provide an exceptions process for any medication step therapy protocol, and for other purposes (H.R. 2077).

July 2018 –

  • Signed on to a  letter outlines proposals the Administration could take to lower patient cost-sharing since patients with serious and chronic health conditions often shoulder the heaviest cost burden and are faced with high out-of-pocket costs, such as increased premiums, higher deductibles, rising copays and co-insurance. All of which can have an impact on medication abandonment and adherence.

August 2018 –

  • The IPPF signed a letter that we will be sent to appropriators in advance of their conference on fiscal year 2019 appropriations legislation. The letter requests that appropriators fund of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) be at a level equal to or higher than the Senate Appropriations Committee marks of $39.1 billion and $462.024 million, respectively.

November 2018 –

  • The IPPF signed onto a letter on behalf of the Part B Access for Seniors and Physicians (ASP) Coalition, which represents a broad cross-section of U.S. health care providers and patient advocacy organizations committed to advancing life-saving innovation in the U.S.

ACTIONS TAKEN & RECOGNITION RECEIVED

2017

SIGNED ON

 

February 2017 –

  • Health Coverage Reform Sign-on Letter to the House Energy and Commerce Committee expressing serious concern about the Preexisting Conditions Protection and Continuous Coverage Incentive Act of 2017. 
  • Sign-on letter with 200 patient organizations to newly confirmed U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Secretary Tom Price urging him to maintain and enforce the ACA’s patient protections as he reviews the law and its implementing regulations.
  • Sign-on letter to the Trump Administration about the challenges facing rare disease patients in America and the vital role that federal agencies play in helping to accelerate the research, development, review, and approval of treatments. These agencies must have the ability to hire and retain personnel in order to accomplish their respective missions and to achieve the broader goal of treating and curing diseases.

March 2017 –

  • Sign-on letter in opposition to the new version of this bill – HR 1313 to the House Education and Workforce Committee .  This legislation would fundamentally undermine the privacy provisions in the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act (or ‘GINA’), and the Americans with Disabilities Act, allowing workplace wellness programs to require individuals to provide their health and genetic information and that of their families, and to impose severe penalties on those who decline to do so.
  • Sign-on letter to Senate Majority Leader and Speaker of the House expressing grave concern about proposals put forth in the American Health Care Act (AHCA) to alter the fundamental structure and purpose of Medicaid, a vital source of health care for patients with ongoing chronic health needs.

April 2017 –

  • Sign-on letter with The National Health Council (NHC) and the National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) are circulating the attached sign-on letter for patient organizations to join us in supporting of timely reauthorization of the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA) user fee agreements. People with chronic and rare diseases and disabilities rely on FDA to access innovative, safe, and effective treatments.
  • Sign- on letter with the Friends of NIDCR to congressional leadership urging them oppose the Administration’s budget proposals, provide the Senate Appropriations Committee approved allocation of $430.5 million for NIDCR in the final FY17 appropriation bill and our recommended level of $452 million for NIDCR in the FY18 bill.
  • Sign-on letter with The Patient Access to Community Treatment (PACT) Coalition is concerned that the Medicare Payment Advisory Commission’s (MedPAC) proposed recommendations to reduce Medicare payments for Part B medicines could limit patient access to community-based care.

May 2017 –

  • Sign-on form urging Congress to engage in trade negotiations supporting policies that foster medical innovation. Patients need new cures and better treatments.

June 2017 –

  • Sent letter with NORD requesting the establishment of the FDA Office of Patient Affairs to help engage patients more effectively.
  • Joined the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation and other rare disease groups in sending a letter to Senate leadership on the importance of Medicaid to our communities and in opposition to cuts to Medicaid.

July 2017 –

  • We joined 133 organizations in supporting @IAmEssentialCoalition’s response to @HHS’ Request for Information (ROI) on ways to reduce regulatory burdens and improve health care choices to empower patients. http://bit.ly/2uRYbde 

August 2017 –

  • The IPPF joined the National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) to express our combined support of the Orphan Drug Tax Credit (ODTC) by sending a letter to Congress.

November 2017 –

  • Signed FDA letter sponsored by the Sjögren’s Syndrome Foundation and the American Autoimmune Related Diseases Association regarding eye health providing expanded access to generic ophthalmic emulsion drug products.
  • The IPPF joined 200 patient organizations in sending this updated letter to Congress in emphatic support of the Orphan Drug Tax Credit.
  • Joined Orphan Drug Credit Coalition along with 34 organizations to advocate preserving the Orphan Drug Tax Credit.
  • Joined Friends of NIDCR sign-on letter to appropriators with our 2018 funding requests for both NIH and NIDCR.

ACTIONS TAKEN & RECOGNITION RECEIVED

 February 2017

2016

SIGNED ON

  • January 2016 – Sign on to letters Urge Obama Administration to Enforce ACA Nondiscrimination Provisions; and support of the 21st Century Cures Act (HR 6)
  • March 2016 – Sign on to letter for Newborn Screening
  • April 2016 – Sign on to letter to Senate HELP Committee Chairman Lamar Alexander and Ranking Member Patty Murray in support of their efforts to advance Innovations legislation bolstered by supplemental funding for NIH.
  • October 2016 – Sign on to Rare Pediatric PRV Program as part of 21st Century Cures Act

ACTIONS TAKEN & RECOGNITION RECEIVED

  • February 2016 – Senior Peer Health Coach Marc Yale and Awareness Program Manager Kate Frantz were joined by 6 P/P patients in Washington DC for Rare Disease Week. In Sacramento, the staff joined other rare disease organizations at the State Capitol, then partnered with NORD for Rare Disease Day with the Sacramento Kings hosting 100 rare disease patients and supporters at an NBA game.

2015

SIGNED ON

  • January 2015 – Sign on to letter To Bring Treatment to Patients with Rare Diseases
  • February 2015 – Sign on to letter for OPEN ACT
  • May 2015 – Sign On to Show Support for Continuing Incentives for Manufacturers Seeking Pediatric Rare Disease Indications.
  • April 2015 – Sign-on letter supporting H.R. 1078, the SOS Act.
  • March 2015 – Sign-on letter opposing undoing GINA
  • March 2015 – Sign On Letter to Ensure Medicaid patients with rare diseases access to prescribed therapy.
  • April 2015 – Sign-on letter supporting H.R. 1078, the SOS Act.
  • May 2015 – Sign On to Show Support for Continuing Incentives for Manufacturers Seeking Pediatric Rare Disease Indications.
  • June 2015 – Joined National Health Council 21st Century Cures Sign-on Letter
  • July 2015 – Signed on to the letter in support of the $10 billion NIH Innovation Fund, which is included in the 2nd draft of the 21st Century Cures legislation.
  • July 2015 – Joined United for Medical Research and the National Health Council in opposing the Brat amendment that cuts critical NIH funding in the 21st Century Cures Act through Politico ad campaign.
  • October 2015 – IPPF added to Sign-on letter with PPMD to Chairman Alexander and Ranking Member Murray regarding Enhanced Patient Engagement.
  • October 2015 – IPPF added to Sign-on letter with NORD supporting the Advancing Targeted Therapies for Rare Diseases Act (S.2030).
  • November 2015 – IPPF added to sign-on Letter in support of Dr. Robert Califf for the position of commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration

ACTIONS TAKEN & RECOGNITION RECEIVED

  • May 2015 – Senior Peer Health Coach presented IPPF CEO Will Zrnchik with NORD’s Abbey S. Meyers Leadership Award for outstanding leadership in rare disease advocacy.
  • September 2015 – IPPF members Todd Kuh (PV), Marc Yale (MM), and a fellow patient join the Coalitions of Skin Diseases at the American Academy of Dermatology Association Legislative Day. Collectively, they meed with 8 offices on our P/P communities behalf.