Tag-Archiv: bullöses Pemphigoid

MADAM, Autoantikörper im Pemphigus zielen vorzugsweise desmoglein 1 (Dsg1) und Dsg3, und selten Desmocollins 1-3 (Dsc1-3). Pemphigus herpetiformis (PH) ist eine der Pemphigus-Subtypen und charakterisiert durch juckende juvenile Erytheme mit Vesikeln in der Peripherie, Seltenheit der Beteiligung der Schleimhaut und histopathologische Veränderungen der eosinophilen Spongiose. Kürzlich wurde vorgeschlagen, dass IgG-Anti-Dsc3-Autoantikörper bei einem Pemphigus vulgaris eine Hautläsion verursachen. In dieser Studie berichten wir über den ersten Fall von gleichzeitigem bullösen Pemphigoid (BP) und PH mit IgG-Antikörpern gegen Dsgs und Dscs.

von: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/bjd.12019/abstract

Bullöses Pemphigoid (BP) ist eine autoimmune blasenbildende Hauterkrankung. Autoantikörper gegen BP180 und BP230 können durch indirekte Immunfluoreszenz (IIF) auf verschiedenen Substraten (Ösophagus, Salzspalthaut, BP180-Antigen-Punkte, BP230-transfizierte Zellen) und ELISA nachgewiesen werden. Hier verglichen wir Testeigenschaften dieser Testsysteme. Wir analysierten Seren von BP-Patienten (n = 60), bei denen die klinische Diagnose histopathologisch bestätigt worden war. Die Kontrollkohorte umfasste Seren von Patienten mit anderen Autoimmunassoziierten (n = 22) oder entzündlichen (n = 35) Hauterkrankungen. Alle Proben wurden von IIF (EUROIMMUN TM Dermatology Mosaic) und ELISA (EUROIMMUN und MBL) getestet. Anti-BP180 wird am besten mit BP180-Antigen-Punkten durch IIF nachgewiesen (Sensitivität: 88%; Spezifität: 97%). Im Vergleich zu IIF sind die Unterschiede zu beiden BP180-ELISA-Techniken jedoch gering. Likelihood Ratios (LR) für positive und negative Testergebnisse sind> 10 bzw. zwischen 0.1 und 0.2 für alle Testsysteme. Der Nachweis von Anti-BP230 ist sehr variabel (Sensitivitätsbereich 38-60%; Spezifitätsbereich 83-98%). Nur der IIF-Test zeigt eine LR für positive Testergebnisse> 10. Da die LRs für einen negativen Test alle ~ 0.5 sind, helfen negative Testergebnisse für Anti-BP230-Antikörper nicht, BP auszuschließen. Zusammenfassend zeigt der Multiparameter-IIF-Test eine gute diagnostische Leistung bei BP. Da dieser Test gleichzeitig den Nachweis von Anti-Dsg1- und Anti-Dsg3-Antikörpern erlaubt, die an Pemphigus foliaceus und Vulgaris beteiligt sind, kann eine einzige Test-Inkubation ausreichen, um zwischen den häufigsten Autoimmun-Blasenerkrankungen zu unterscheiden.

Zusammenfassend zeigt der Multiparameter-IIF-Test eine gute diagnostische Leistung bei BP. Da dieser Test gleichzeitig den Nachweis von Anti-Dsg1- und Anti-Dsg3-Antikörpern erlaubt, die an Pemphigus foliaceus und Vulgaris beteiligt sind, kann eine einzige Test-Inkubation ausreichen, um zwischen den häufigsten Autoimmun-Blasenerkrankungen zu unterscheiden. PMID: 22580378 [PubMed - in Bearbeitung] (Quelle: Journal of Immunological Methods)
von MedWorm: Pemphigus http://www.medworm.com/index.php? rid = 6304089 & cid = c_297_3_f &fid = 33859 & URL = http% 3A% 2F%2Fwww.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov%2FPubMed% 2F22580378% 3Fdopt%3DAbstrakt

Abstrakt

HINTERGRUND:

Systematische Reviews und Meta-Analysen sind essenzielle Werkzeuge, um Evidenz präzise und zuverlässig zusammenzufassen. Sie können als Ausgangspunkt für die Entwicklung von Praxisrichtlinien für die Diagnose und Behandlung von Patienten dienen.

AIM:

Zur Abschätzung der diagnostischen Genauigkeit von enzymgekoppelten Immunadsorptions-Assays (ELISA) zum Nachweis von anti-BP180- und anti-Desmoglein 3 (Dsg3) -Autoantikörpern bei der Diagnose von autoimmunen blasenbildenden Hauterkrankungen.

METHODEN:

Eine Medline-Suche nach in englischer Sprache verfassten Artikeln, die zwischen 1994 und 2011 veröffentlicht wurden und Daten zur Sensitivität und Spezifität diagnostischer Tests enthielten, wurde unter Verwendung der folgenden Suchbegriffe durchgeführt: "BP180-Autoantikörper", "Dsg3-Autoantikörper" und "enzymgekoppelter Immunadsorptionstest". Die ausgewählten Artikel wurden nach der Qualität der statistischen Methoden bewertet, die zur Berechnung der diagnostischen Genauigkeit verwendet wurden (Definition des Cutoff-Werts, Verwendung von ROC-Kurven und Auswahl von Kontrollfällen). Die Meta-Analyse wurde unter Verwendung einer zusammenfassenden ROC (SROC) -Kurve und eines Zufallseffekt-Modells durchgeführt, um Sensitivität und Spezifität unabhängig über Studien zu kombinieren.

ERGEBNISSE:

Die Suche ergab 69-Publikationen zu BP180-Autoantikörpern und 178 zu Dsg3-Autoantikörpern. Insgesamt erfüllten 30-Studien die Einschlusskriterien: 17 lieferte Daten zu den Tests zum Nachweis von Autoantikörpern gegen BP180 in einer Probe von 583-Patienten mit bullösem Pemphigoid (BP), während 13-Studien Daten zur Bestimmung von Anti-Dsg3-Autoantikörpern lieferten eine Probe von 1058-Patienten mit Pemphigus vulgaris (PV). Die 17-Studien zu BP180-Autoantikörpern ergaben eine gepoolte Empfindlichkeit von 0.87 (95% -Konfidenzintervall (CI) 0.85 zu 0.89) und eine gepoolte Spezifität von 0.98 (CI, 0.98 zu 0.99). Die Fläche unter der Kurve (AUC) für die SROC-Kurve war 0.988, und die summarische diagnostische Odds Ratio war 374.91 (CI, 249.97 bis 562.30). Die 13-Studien an Dsg3-Autoantikörpern, die die Einschlusskriterien erfüllten, ergaben eine gepoolte Empfindlichkeit von 0.97 (CI, 0.95 zu 0.98) und eine gepoolte Spezifität von 0.98 (CI, 0.98 zu 0.99). Die AUC für die SROC-Kurve war 0.995 und die summarische diagnostische Odds Ratio war 1466.11 (95% CI, 750.36 bis 2864.61).

FAZIT:

Die Ergebnisse der Metaanalyse zeigten, dass ELISA-Tests für Anti-BP180- und Anti-Dsg3-Autoantikörper eine hohe Sensitivität und Spezifität für BP bzw. PV aufweisen und in der täglichen Laborpraxis für die Erstdiagnose von autoimmunen blasenbildenden Hauterkrankungen eingesetzt werden können.
PMID: 22781589 [PubMed - wie vom Publisher zur Verfügung gestellt] (Quelle: Autoimmunity Reviews)

von MedWorm: Pemphigus http://www.medworm.com/index.php? rid = 6303276 & cid = c_297_3_f &fid = 34528 & URL = http% 3A% 2F%2Fwww.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov%2FPubMed% 2F22781589% 3Fdopt%3DAbstrakt

Bullöses Pemphigoid (BP) ist eine autoimmune blasenbildende Hauterkrankung. Autoantikörper gegen BP180 und BP230 können durch indirekte Immunfluoreszenz (IIF) auf verschiedenen Substraten (Ösophagus, Salzspalthaut, BP180-Antigen-Punkte, BP230-transfizierte Zellen) und ELISA nachgewiesen werden. Hier verglichen wir Testeigenschaften dieser Testsysteme. Wir analysierten Seren von BP-Patienten (n = 60), bei denen die klinische Diagnose histopathologisch bestätigt worden war. Die Kontrollkohorte umfasste Seren von Patienten mit anderen Autoimmunassoziierten (n = 22) oder entzündlichen (n = 35) Hauterkrankungen. Alle Proben wurden mit IIF (EUROIMMUN TM Dermatology Mosaic) und ELISA getestet (EUROIMMUN und MBL). Anti-BP180 wird am besten mit BP180-Antigen-Punkten durch IIF nachgewiesen (Sensitivität: 88%; Spezifität: 97%). Im Vergleich zu IIF sind die Unterschiede zu beiden BP180-ELISA-Techniken jedoch gering. Likelihood Ratios (LR) für positive und negative Testergebnisse sind> 10 bzw. zwischen 0.1 und 0.2 für alle Testsysteme. Der Nachweis von Anti-BP230 ist sehr variabel (Sensitivitätsbereich 38-60%; Spezifitätsbereich 83-98%). Nur der IIF-Test zeigt eine LR für positive Testergebnisse> 10. Da die LRs für einen negativen Test alle ~ 0.5 sind, helfen negative Testergebnisse für Anti-BP230-Antikörper nicht, BP auszuschließen. Zusammenfassend zeigt der Multiparameter-IIF-Test eine gute diagnostische Leistung bei BP. Da dieser Test gleichzeitig den Nachweis von Anti-Dsg1- und Anti-Dsg3-Antikörpern erlaubt, die an Pemphigus foliaceus und Vulgaris beteiligt sind, kann eine einzige Test-Inkubation ausreichen, um zwischen den häufigsten Autoimmun-Blasenerkrankungen zu unterscheiden.

Copyright © 2012 Elsevier BV Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

Quelle: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22580378?dopt=Abstract

In diesem Artikel wird die Verwendung von MMF für die Behandlung mehrerer bullöser Erkrankungen untersucht und die Beweise aus klinischen Studien und Fallserien bewertet. Laut zahlreicher Fallserien könnte MMF bei der Behandlung von refraktären Erkrankungen von Nutzen sein. Die wenigen bisher durchgeführten randomisierten klinischen Studien mit Patienten mit Pemphigus und bullösem Pemphigoid berichten von einer ähnlichen Wirksamkeit von MMF wie andere Immunsuppressiva. (Quelle: Immunologie- und Allergiekliniken Nordamerikas)

von MedWorm: Pemphigus http://www.medworm.com/index.php? rid = 6018247 & cid = c_297_3_f &fid = 33229 & URL = http% 3A% 2F%2Fwww.immunology.theclinics.com% 2Fartikel%2FPIIS0889856112000252%2Fabstract% 3Frss% 3Dyes

Bullous Pemphigoid, die häufigste autoimmune Blasenerkrankung, wird durch Autoantikörper gegen Kollagen vom Typ XVII induziert. Der passive Transfer von IgG- oder IgE-Antikörpern gegen Kollagen vom Typ XVII in Tiere hat nicht nur die Pathogenität dieser Antikörper gezeigt, sondern auch die nachfolgenden Immunreaktionen, einschließlich Komplementaktivierung, Mastzellendegranulation und Infiltration von Neutrophilen und / oder Eosinophilen. In-vitro-Studien zum Ectodomänen-Shedding von Kollagen vom Typ XVII haben auch grundlegende Kenntnisse über die Entwicklung von bullösem Pemphigoid vermittelt. Die pathogene Rolle von autoreaktiven CD4 + T-Lymphozyten bei der Entwicklung der pathogenen Autoantikörper gegen Kollagen vom Typ XVII sollte ebenfalls beachtet werden. (Quelle: Immunologie- und Allergiekliniken Nordamerikas)
aus MedWorm Abfrage: Pemphigoid http://www.medworm.com/index.php? rid = 6018238 & cid = u_0_3_f &fid = 33229 & URL = http% 3A% 2F%2Fwww.immunology.theclinics.com% 2Fartikel%2FPIIS0889856112000161%2Fabstract% 3Frss% 3Dyes

Tag Archives: bullous pemphigoid

Background  Bullous skin diseases are known to be associated with significant morbidity and mortality. There have been no studies on mortality from severe bullous skin diseases in Canada.

Methods  We used mortality data from the Statistics Canada website from 2000 to 2007 for three major bullous skin diseases: bullous pemphigoid; pemphigus; and toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN). Crude and age-standardized mortality rates were calculated and compared with the corresponding US mortality rates. Linear regression was used to assess time trend and effect of gender and age on mortality rates.

Results  During the period of eight years, there were 115 deaths attributed to pemphigoid, 84 to pemphigus, and 44 to TEN. The crude annual mortality rate was the highest for pemphigoid (0.045 per 100,000), followed by pemphigus (0.033), and TEN (0.017). None of these conditions demonstrated significant time trends in mortality rates over the eight-year period, although a trend towards decreasing pemphigus mortality was observed (P = 0.07). No gender difference in mortality was observed, but advanced age was associated with mortality in all three conditions.

Conclusion  Among bullous skin diseases, pemphigoid is the leading cause of mortality in Canada. This is in contrast to the USA, where TEN is the leading cause of mortality from bullous skin diseases. It is not clear whether differences in healthcare systems explain these findings.

Full article available at: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1365-4632.2011.05227.x/abstract;jsessionid=FAE06EFE4AF802D50261B2992F71D91D.d02t01?systemMessage=Wiley+Online+Library+will+be+disrupted+on+27+October+from+10%3A00-12%3A00+BST+%2805%3A00-07%3A00+EDT%29+for+essential+maintenance

MADAM, Autoantibodies in pemphigus target preferentially desmoglein 1 (Dsg1) and Dsg3, and rarely desmocollins 1-3 (Dsc1-3). Pemphigus herpetiformis (PH) is one of pemphigus subtypes and characterized by pruritic annular erythemas with vesicles in the periphery, rarity of mucosal involvement and histopathological change of eosinophilic spongiosis. Recently, IgG anti-Dsc3 autoantibodies were suggested to cause skin lesion in a case of pemphigus vulgaris. In this study, we report the first case of concurrent bullous pemphigoid (BP) and PH with IgG antibodies to both Dsgs and Dscs.

from: http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/bjd.12019/abstract

Bullous pemphigoid (BP) is an autoimmune blistering skin disease. Autoantibodies to BP180 and BP230 can be detected by indirect immunofluorescence (IIF) on different substrates (oesophagus, salt-split-skin, BP180-antigen dots, BP230-transfected cells) and ELISA. Here, we compared test characteristics of these test systems. We analysed sera from BP patients (n=60) in whom the clinical diagnosis had been confirmed histopathologically. The control cohort comprised sera from patients with other autoimmune-associated (n=22) or inflammatory (n=35) skin diseases. All samples were tested by IIF (EUROIMMUN™ Dermatology Mosaic) and ELISA (EUROIMMUN and MBL). Anti-BP180 is best detected with BP180-antigen dots by IIF (sensitivity: 88%; specificity: 97%). As compared to IIF, the differences with both BP180 ELISA techniques are small though. Likelihood ratios (LRs) for positive and negative test results are >10 and between 0.1 and 0.2, respectively, for all test systems. Detection of anti-BP230 is highly variable (sensitivity range 38-60%; specificity range 83-98%). Only the IIF test reveals a LR for positive test results >10. Since the LRs for a negative test are all ~0.5, negative test results for anti-BP230 antibodies do not help to exclude BP. In conclusion, the multi-parameter IIF test reveals a good diagnostic performance in BP. Since this test simultaneously allows for the detection of anti-Dsg1 and anti-Dsg3 antibodies, involved in pemphigus foliaceus and vulgaris, a single test-incubation may be sufficient to differentiate between the most frequent autoimmune blistering diseases.

In conclusion, the multi-parameter IIF test reveals a good diagnostic performance in BP. Since this test simultaneously allows for the detection of anti-Dsg1 and anti-Dsg3 antibodies, involved in pemphigus foliaceus and vulgaris, a single test-incubation may be sufficient to differentiate between the most frequent autoimmune blistering diseases. PMID: 22580378 [PubMed – in process] (Source: Journal of Immunological Methods)
from MedWorm: Pemphigus http://www.medworm.com/index.php?rid=6304089&cid=c_297_3_f&fid=33859&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov%2FPubMed%2F22580378%3Fdopt%3DAbstract

Abstract

BACKGROUND:

Systematic reviews and meta-analysis are essential tools to accurately and reliably summarize evidence, and can be used as a starting point for developing practice guidelines for the diagnosis and treatment of patients.

AIM:

To estimate the diagnostic accuracy of enzyme-linked immunosorbent assays (ELISA) to detect anti-BP180 and anti-desmoglein 3 (Dsg3) autoantibodies in the diagnosis of autoimmune blistering skin diseases.

METHODS:

A Medline search of English written articles, published between 1994 and 2011, reporting data on the sensitivity and specificity of diagnostic tests was conducted using the following search terms: “BP180 autoantibodies”, “Dsg3 autoantibodies”, and “enzyme linked immunosorbent assay”. The selected articles have been evaluated according to the quality of the statistical methods used to calculate diagnostic accuracy (definition of cutoff value, use of ROC curves, and selection of control cases). The meta-analysis was performed using a summary ROC (SROC) curve and a random-effect model to independently combine sensitivity and specificity across studies.

RESULTS:

The search yielded 69 publications on BP180 autoantibodies and 178 on Dsg3 autoantibodies. A total of 30 studies met the inclusion criteria: 17 provided data on the assays to detect autoantibodies to BP180 in a sample of 583 patients with bullous pemphigoid (BP), while 13 studies provided data on the assays to search for anti-Dsg3 autoantibodies in a sample of 1058 patients with pemphigus vulgaris (PV). The 17 studies on BP180 autoantibodies yielded a pooled sensitivity of 0.87 (95% confidence interval (CI) 0.85 to 0.89) and a pooled specificity of 0.98 (CI, 0.98 to 0.99). The area under the curve (AUC) for the SROC curve was 0.988, and the summary diagnostic odds ratio was 374.91 (CI, 249.97 to 562.30). The 13 studies on Dsg3 autoantibodies which met the inclusion criteria, yielded a pooled sensitivity of 0.97 (CI, 0.95 to 0.98), and a pooled specificity of 0.98 (CI, 0.98 to 0.99). The AUC for the SROC curve was 0.995 and the summary diagnostic odds ratio was 1466.11 (95% CI, 750.36 to 2864.61).

CONCLUSIONS:

Results of the meta-analysis demonstrated that ELISA tests for anti-BP180 and anti-Dsg3 autoantibodies have high sensitivity and specificity for BP and PV, respectively, and can be used in daily laboratory practice for the initial diagnosis of autoimmune blistering skin diseases.
PMID: 22781589 [PubMed – as supplied by publisher] (Source: Autoimmunity Reviews)

from MedWorm: Pemphigus http://www.medworm.com/index.php?rid=6303276&cid=c_297_3_f&fid=34528&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov%2FPubMed%2F22781589%3Fdopt%3DAbstract

Bullous pemphigoid (BP) is an autoimmune blistering skin disease. Auto-antibodies to BP180 and BP230 can be detected by indirect immunofluorescence (IIF) on different substrates (oesophagus, salt-split-skin, BP180-antigen dots, BP230-transfected cells) and ELISA. Here, we compared test characteristics of these test systems. We analyzed sera from BP patients (n=60) in whom the clinical diagnosis had been confirmed histopathologically. The control cohort comprised sera from patients with other autoimmune-associated (n=22) or inflammatory (n=35) skin diseases. All samples were tested by IIF (EUROIMMUN™ Dermatology Mosaic) and ELISA (EUROIMMUN and MBL). Anti-BP180 is best detected with BP180-antigen dots by IIF (sensitivity: 88%; specificity: 97%). As compared to IIF, the differences with both BP180 ELISA techniques are small though. Likelihood ratios (LRs) for positive and negative test results are >10 and between 0.1 and 0.2, respectively, for all test systems. Detection of anti-BP230 is highly variable (sensitivity range 38-60%; specificity range 83-98%). Only the IIF test reveals a LR for positive test results >10. Since the LRs for a negative test are all ~0.5, negative test results for anti-BP230 antibodies do not help to exclude BP. In conclusion, the multi-parameter IIF test reveals a good diagnostic performance in BP. Since this test simultaneously allows for the detection of anti-Dsg1 and anti-Dsg3 antibodies, involved in pemphigus foliaceus and vulgaris, a single test-incubation may be sufficient to differentiate between the most frequent autoimmune blistering diseases.

Copyright © 2012 Elsevier B.V. All rights reserved.

 

Source: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22580378?dopt=Abstract

  This article reviews the use of MMF for the treatment of several bullous conditions, and assesses the evidence gathered from clinical trials and case series. According to numerous case series, MMF could be of value in treating refractory disease. The few randomized clinical trials conducted to date of patients with pemphigus and bullous pemphigoid report a similar efficacy for MMF to other immunosuppressants. (Source: Immunology and Allergy Clinics of North America)

from MedWorm: Pemphigus http://www.medworm.com/index.php?rid=6018247&cid=c_297_3_f&fid=33229&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.immunology.theclinics.com%2Farticle%2FPIIS0889856112000252%2Fabstract%3Frss%3Dyes

Bullous pemphigoid, the most common autoimmune blistering disease, is induced by autoantibodies against type XVII collagen. Passive transfer of IgG or IgE antibodies against type XVII collagen into animals has revealed not only the pathogenicity of these antibodies but also the subsequent immune responses, including complement activation, mast cell degranulation, and infiltration of neutrophils and/or eosinophils. In vitro studies on ectodomain shedding of type XVII collagen have also provided basic knowledge on the development of bullous pemphigoid. The pathogenic role of autoreactive CD4+ T lymphocytes in the development of the pathogenic autoantibodies to type XVII collagen should also be noted. (Source: Immunology and Allergy Clinics of North America)
from MedWorm Query: Pemphigoid http://www.medworm.com/index.php?rid=6018238&cid=u_0_3_f&fid=33229&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.immunology.theclinics.com%2Farticle%2FPIIS0889856112000161%2Fabstract%3Frss%3Dyes